HomeContactSitemapLegal Notice
Search ČeskýEnglishDeutsch
English

Welcome to the home of the Schwibbogen

Thank you for visiting our website and for your interest in the youngest mining town in the Erzgebirge.

Our lively and charming city sits in the stunning landscape of the western Erzgebirge mountains, right on the Czech border. Founded by Bohemian exiles with the permission of Saxon Elector Johann Georg I in 1654, and at 700 to 1,000 m above sea level, it is the second highest town in Saxony, making it an excellent winter sport resort. From the ski lodge, you can follow the Kammloipe ridgeway trail as far as Schöneck in Vogtland.

If that's not for you, the town also boasts a roller skating and ice rink that is illuminated in winter, a double chair lift, toboggan slopes and a vast network of hiking and skiing trails to explore.

Even if you're not a winter sport fan, it's still a great place for lovers of an active lifestyle, with an indoor swimming pool, a natural outdoor pool, the Franz Mehring sport and community centre, a bowling alley and mountain bike trails.

Here in Johanngeorgenstadt, we treasure our heritage and customs. At the Heimatstube local history museum, you can learn about traditional handicrafts such as bobbin lace-making, woodcarving, shoe and leather glove making, and how Schwibbogen are made. The Pferdegöpel mining technology museum and the Frisch Glück "Glöckl" educational exhibition mine explore the town's centuries of mining history.

The home of the Schwibbogen truly lives up to its name. These arched candle holders are a Christmas tradition born of the Erzgebirge's mining communities; here in Johanngeorgenstadt, you'll not only find the largest free-standing version at 15 m tall and 25 m wide, but plenty of others of all sizes across the town. The figures in our 26 m high Riesenpyramide (giant pyramid) tell the history of the town.

On this website, you’ll find plenty of useful information about the town's administration and the various aspects of town life. Be inspired by the natural beauty you can see on our webcams along the ridgeway trail, and discover just how much this town has to offer. Make sure to visit the homepage regularly to keep up to date on our many events.

And of course, come and visit us in person if you can.

Glück auf!
Mayor Holger Hascheck

StartseiteKontaktformularInhaltsverzeichnisImpressum
Suche ČeskýEnglishDeutsch
Blick auf Johanngeorgenstadt
05.11.2017
Sonstiges
Tinker Fee, Schwarzenberger Str. 49
11.11.2017
Tradition
Sport- und Begegnungsstätte "Franz Mehring"
  • +++Öffnung Hallenbad vom 16.10.2017 bis 22.12.2017 mittwochs und donnerstags ab 16:00 Uhr und freitags ab 15:00 Uhr +++

Herzlich willkommen in der Stadt des Schwibbogens

Ich begrüße Sie ganz herzlich auf unserer Internetseite und freue mich über Ihr Interesse an der jüngsten Bergstadt im Erzgebirge.

Unsere lebens- und liebenswerte Stadt liegt unmittelbar an der tschechischen Grenze in der landschaftlich reizvollen Umgebung des Westerzgebirges. Mit einer Höhe von 700 bis 1.000 m ü. NN ist die 1654 mit Erlaubnis des sächsischen Kurfürsten Johann Georg I. von böhmischen Exulanten gegründete Bergstadt die zweithöchste Stadt Sachsens. Auf Grund dieser Lage finden Sie hier sehr gute Wintersportbedingungen vor. Sie können beispielsweise vom Loipenhaus aus die bis ins vogtländische Schöneck führende Kammloipe nutzen.

Aber auch die im Winter beleuchtete Roller- und Skatingbahn, der Doppelschlepplift, Rodelhänge und ein weitverzweigtes Loipen- und Wanderwegenetz bieten ideale Voraussetzungen für einen erlebnisreichen Aufenthalt.

Für Fitness und Freizeit hält unsere Stadt zudem ein Hallenbad, das Naturfreibad, die Sport- und Begegnungsstätte "Franz Mehring", eine Kegelbahn und Mountainbike-Strecken bereit.

Die alten erzgebirgischen Bräuche werden bei uns liebevoll gepflegt. In der Heimatstube können Sie das Klöppeln, Schnitzen, Schustern sowie die Lederhandschuh- und Schwibbogenherstellung erkunden. Das bergbautechnische Museum Pferdegöpel und das Lehr- & Schaubergwerk Frisch Glück "Glöckl" zeugen von der jahrhundertealten Bergbaugeschichte.

Die Stadt des Schwibbogens macht ihrem Beinamen alle Ehre. Neben dem größten freistehenden 15 m hohen und 25 m breiten Schwibbogen finden Sie überall größere und kleinere Exemplare dieses mit bergmännischem Gedankengut vereinten erzgebirgischen Weihnachtssymbols. Die Figuren der 26 m hohen Riesenpyramide zeugen von der Stadtgeschichte.

Auf unseren Seiten finden Sie viel Wissenswertes und Informatives über die Verwaltung und aus den verschiedenen Bereichen des Stadtgeschehens. Lassen Sie sich von den Naturschönheiten mittels der Webcams entlang der Kammloipe inspirieren und davon, was es alles bei uns zu erleben gibt. Informieren Sie sich auf unserer Homepage über die vielfältigen Veranstaltungen in unserer Stadt.

Ich lade Sie herzlich ein, unsere Bergstadt persönlich zu besuchen.

Glück auf!
Ihr Bürgermeister Holger Hascheck