Johanngeorgenstadt in the Ore Mountains

Our mountain town that was founded in 1654 by permission of the Saxon Elector Johann George I. is situated in the southern part of the district of Aue-Schwarzenberg on the Saxon-Bohemian border. Mining has shaped the aspect of the town for centuries. Even today the interested visitor can find a lot of witnesses to those days of the so-called "Berggeschrey" when the message of the discovery of silver spread out fast which gave the region its name Silver Ore Mountains (Erzgebirge).

Located in the midst of the densely wooded western Ore Mountains, the region surrounding the 1,019 m (3,343ft) high Auersberg offers the ideal setting both for friends of active holidays and for those seeking peace and relaxation. The Auersberg region is regarded as the largest wooden area of Saxony and offers more than 400 km (250 miles) of clearly sign-posted hiking routes and nature trails. One of the most popular is the frontier-crossing path "Anton-Günther-Lehrpfad" dedicated to the regional and dialect poet Anton Günther from the Erzgebirge. Splendid views far into the Bohemian Ore Mountains, as well as meadows full of flowers and romantic valleys entice into excursions to discover the town and nature. The "Teufelssteine" (devil's stones) and the nature reserves "Steinbachtal" and the moor "Kleiner Kranichsee" are really made for nature lovers.

Being located at altitudes between 700 and 1,000 m (2,297 and 3,280ft) above sea level, Johanngeorgenstadt is one of the winter sport resorts of German low mountain ranges with highest snow reliability. Twinkling snow crystals, snow-covered forests, picturesque views over the ridge of the Ore Mountains, impressions in white that is what awaits the visitor. Numerous sport and cultural facilities offer a varied and mixed program to the guests of Johanngeorgenstadt.

Whether natural ice rink, double ski tow or the well-prepared branched network of cross-country skiing trails around the so-called "Kammloipe", which runs from Schöneck via Mühlleithen, Carlsfeld to Johanngeorgenstadt and gives access to more than 100 km (60 miles) of connecting trails, here the winter sport enthusiast finds everything the heart desires. When you, however, wish to feel the wintry scenery with a touch of romanticism you should go on a ride by horse and carriage through the magically snow-covered forests.

The three potable water reservoirs - Sosa at the bottom of the mountain Auersberg, Eibenstock, the largest one covering 350 ha (865 acres), and Weiterswiese, Saxony's uppermost dam located near Carlsfeld - surrounded by meadows and forests fit harmoniously into the scenery.

Other tourist attractions are:

  • All year round exhibition of wood carving art, pyramids and candle arches
  • Mine and mining museum Frisch Glück "Glöckl" with Christmas Mass Shift (reservation necessary)
  • Horse capstan
  • Mountain Auersberg with observation tower
  • Neo-gothic town church
  • Historic post mile signposts
  • Natural swimming pool "Am Schwefelbach"
  • Indoor pool
  • Sport and community centre "Franz Mehring"
  • Climbing center
  • Giant pyramid
  • Nature trail Steinbachtal
  • Horse-riding tourism, charabanc tours, bowling lane
  • Roller and skating track
  • Greatest candle arch in the world

The well frequented border crossing in the town district Wittigsthal which can be used by pedestrians, bicycle riders, the train, and - from 2007 on also by cars - is the ideal starting point for excursions into the neighbouring Czech Republic. Within short time you can get by train to the Czech spa centre of Karlovy Vary.

Festivals are celebrated according to the Erzgebirge tradition long and cheerfully, like every year on February 23rd when the foundation of the town is commemorated or the Gugler Fast and the Old City Festival in summer, the station festival in autumn and the so-called Schwibbogenfest on the 3rd advent weekend, dedicated to the famous candle arch.

Johanngeorgenstadt is said to be the birth place of the metal candle arch from the Erzgebirge that is used as Christmas decoration. The oldest sample dates back to 1778 and was created by a local mountain smith named Teller.